Bihar Judiciary Syllabus 2024 [Prelims & Mains]

Bihar Public Service Commission will conduct the 31st Bihar Judicial Services Competitive examination in 2024. The Bihar Judiciary exam will consist of two stages namely the preliminary stage and main stage. The final interview will be conducted for evaluating the candidates based on their general knowledge. The Bihar Judiciary Syllabus 2024 is released on the official website i.e.

Bihar Judiciary Exam Syllabus 2024

The Bihar Judiciary exam will be conducted in two phases such as prelims & mains respectively. Aspirants can check the details Bihar Judicial services exams syllabus. Also, check the best books for Judiciary Exams.

[Download Free Study Materials For Bihar Judiciary Exams]

Bihar Judiciary Prelims Syllabus 2024

The Bihar Judiciary Prelims Exam has two papers:

Paper 1: MCQs from General Studies / General Knowledge for 100 marks.

Paper 2: MCQs from Law topics for 150 marks.

Bihar Judiciary Paper 1 Syllabus

General Studies

  • Current events
  • History of India and Bihar
  • Culture of India and Bihar
  • Geography of India and Bihar

General Science

  • Everyday science
  • Elementary general science

Check Also: Judiciary Eligibility Criteria 2024

Bihar Judiciary Paper 2 Syllabus

  1. General Knowledge and current affairs
  2. Elementary General Science
  3. Law of Evidence and Procedure
  4. Constitutional and Administrative Law of India
  5. Hindu Law and Mohammedan Law
  6. Law of Transfer of Property, Principles of Equity
  7. Law of Trusts and Specific Relief
  8. Law of Contracts and Torts
  9. Commercial Law

Compulsory Papers

Subject Marks
General Knowledge and Current Affairs 150
Elementary General Science 100
English 100
Hindi 100
Law Evidence and Procedure 150

Optional Papers

Subject Marks
Constitution Law of India 150
Hindu Law and Mohammadan Law 150
Transfer of Property, Principal of Equity, Law of Trust, and Specific Relief Act 150
Law of Contract and Torts 150
Commercial Law 150

Bihar Judiciary Mains Syllabus 2024

Bihar Judicial Services Exam consists of two parts namely, the optional papers and the compulsory papers. English and Hindi papers are compulsory. Both these papers consist of 100 marks, out of which the candidate should score 33 marks in each exam. These marks will be considered in the total marks for ranking. The candidate should attempt 3 papers out of 5 optional papers.

Compulsory Papers

The syllabus for General Science and General Studies is the same as the prelims exam.

General Hindi

  1. Essay
  2. Syntax (sentence formation)
  3. Hindi grammar

General English

  1. General understanding of the language
  2. Written English
  3. Passage writing
  4. Precis writing
  5. Letter writing

Law of evidence and procedure

  1. Indian Evidence Act (1 of 1872)
  2. Civil Procedure Code (5 of 1908)
  3. Arbitration and Conciliation Act 1996
  4. Code of Criminal Procedure, 1973 (2 of 1974)
  5. Provincial Small Cause Courts Act, 1887

Read Also: How To Become Junior Civil Judge In India

Optional Papers

Constitutional and Administrative Law of India

  1. Constitution of India – (Article 1 to 395 and Schedules)
  2. Administrative law of India
  3. Delegated legislation
  4. Control of delegated legislation – Judicial & Legislative
  5. Fair hearing, rules of natural justice, rules against bias, audi alteram partem
  6. Tribunals and quasi-judicial authorities, judicial control over them
  7. Regulatory authorities
  8. Judicial review of administrative action
  9. Jurisdiction and statutory judicial remedies, scope, extent & distinction
  10. Public interest litigation
  11. Tortious liability of state and compensation
  12. Promissory estoppel, legitimate expectation & doctrine of proportionality
  13. Government contracts
  14. Ombudsman

Hindu Law and Mohammedan Law

  1. Hindu law
  2. Muhammadan law

Law of Transfer of Property / Principles of Equity / Law of Trusts and Specific Relief

  1. Law of transfer of property
  2. Principles of equity
  3. law of trust
  4. Specific relief
  5. History of the Court of equity, maxims, the origin of use
  6. Determination of trust, remedies for the breach of trust
  7. Specific Relief Act 1963 (Act 47 of 1963)
  8. Indian Trust Act (2 of 1882)

Check Also: Best Judiciary Coaching in Patna 

Law of Contracts & Torts

  1. Law of contracts
  2. Indian contract act
  3. Law of torts
  4. General principles of liabilities
  5. Remedies, nuisance
  6. Injuries to persons
  7. Assault
  8. False imprisonment
  9. Injuries to domestic and contractual relations
  10. Wrongful dismissal
  11. Defamation
  12. Negligence
  13. The rule in Rylands vs. Fletcher Deceit
  14. Conspiracy
  15. Malicious Prosecution

Commercial Law

  1. Sale of Goods
  2. Negotiable instruments
  3. Company law
  4. Partnership

Read Also: How To Prepare For Bihar Judiciary Exam 2024

Suggested Books to cover Bihar Judiciary Exam Syllabus 2024

  1. General Knowledge for Judicial Services Examinations
  2. Guide for Bihar Judicial Services (Mains) Examination
  3. Bihar Judicial Services Examination (Hindi)
  4. Bihar And Jharkhand Judicial Services {Preliminary) Examinations
  5. Ready Reckoner for Judicial Services Preliminary Examinations
  6. Singhal’s Bihar & Jharkhand Judicial Service Examinations: Solved (Pre.) Papers & Unsolved (Mains) Papers Up-to-Date

Read Also: Civil Judge Powers – Roles And Responsibilities

Bihar Judiciary Syllabus FAQs

Q). Is the Bihar Judiciary Syllabus 2024 PDF available online?

A). Yes, the Bihar Judiciary Syllabus PDF is available online for download.

Q). How many optional papers are there in the Bihar Judiciary Exam?

A). There are a total of 5 optional papers in the exam. Out of these papers, the candidate should choose 3 papers.

Q). How many compulsory subjects are there in the Bihar Judiciary Syllabus 2024?

A). There are 5 compulsory subjects are in the Bihar Judiciary Syllabus 2024.

Q). What are the maximum marks of the interview in the Bihar Judiciary Exam?

A). The interview process of the Bihar Judiciary Exam is conducted for 100 marks.

Q). What are the stages of the Bihar Judiciary Exam?

A). The stages of the Bihar Judiciary Exam are the mains exam and the prelims exam.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.